Skip to main content

Myerscough Rugby confirmed for elite ACE League

Monday 12 Apr 2021

Myerscough Rugby Academy students can look forward to returning to action later this year, after the 2021 ACE League entrants were confirmed.

Huddle Close Up

Previously known as the AASE League, the ACE League (Academy, Colleges and Education) has fourteen entrants, split into a North and South Pool. The 2020 ACE League was cancelled due to Covid.

The league is part of a programme that gives students the opportunity to combine rugby training on a daily basis with academic study, allowing students to not only gain an excellent education, but also experience high quality rugby training and match opportunities.

Myerscough College offers an outstanding and aspirational rugby and academic development programme for talented young players to achieve their potential both on and off the pitch, in association with Premiership side, Sale Sharks.

For 2021, Myerscough will be in the North Pool alongside Bishop Burton College (Yorkshire), Brooksby Melton College (Leicester Tigers), City of Oxford College (Wasps), Gosforth Academy (Newcastle Falcons), Oaklands College (Saracens), and Stourport High (Worcester Warriors).

The schedule and fixtures are yet to be formalised, but if the league follows the pattern of previous seasons, expect each side to play the others in their pool once before the pools split top/bottom for the second half of the season. From there play off places will be decided, with the final likely in the first week of December.

Places are still available for study programmes beginning in September. Click here to find out more or email Myerscough’s Head of Rugby, Steve Gough, at SGough@myerscough.ac.uk

by Dave Salmon