Skip to main content

Winners announced in Myerscough Golden Roses 2019

Thursday 25 Apr 2019

The winners of the 2019 Myerscough Golden Roses Awards have been unveiled.

GOLDEN ROSES 2019 GROUP crop.jpg

This was the sixth year Myerscough, in conjunction with UCLan Students’ Union, have held an awards celebration to pay tribute to teaching and professional services staff across the institution.

The winners received a trophy & flowers during a ceremony attended by staff, students and representatives from UCLan.

The Myerscough Golden Roses are an annual student-led teaching awards held at University Centre Myerscough, in partnership with UCLan Students’ Union. They allow all higher education students at Myerscough to recognise staff for the vital role they play in both teaching and supporting students.

This year the award winners were:

Student Support Award

This award recognises the staff member who goes above and beyond to offer a fantastic student experience. They’ll be approachable and proactive in offering help and treating students as individuals.

The winner is SAM PARKS

The judges commented: ‘’Sam been great help to her students, and allowed them to focus on their strengths even through tough times. She goes out of her way to check on her students and she empowers them to believe they can do anything they set their minds to.’’

The Myerscough Golden One

This award recognises any member of staff who goes above and beyond. It is in effect, the staff member of the year.

The winner is DANNY COWELL

The judges commented: ‘’Danny goes above and beyond for his students, he never fails to get his students involved and has a strong work ethic. This is passed onto students, who when they leave are truly ready to work in the (motorsport) industry. He’s also provided a number of other opportunities and amazing trips.’’

(Danny's line manager, Joyce Cotton, collected the award on his behalf).

Lecturer of the Year

This award is for the lecturer who has made a significant contribution to the academic experience, to recognise their passion, enthusiasm and their ability to keep students engaged in their lessons.

The winner is WES HALL

The judges commented: ‘’Wes never backs down from a challenge. Each student is treated as an individual and teaching is tailored to their needs. The students feel passionate about gaining more knowledge due to the inspiration they feel. He makes time for everyone and makes people feel more motivated and able to achieve.’’

Gemma Ghouse, from the UClan Student Union, presented the award ceremony and said: ‘’The Golden Roses are a great way to engage with students on the impact staff have had on their learning experiences.

‘’They are designed, awarded and presented by students which makes them extra special to the staff who receive them. They allow students to recognise staff for their important role in teaching, learning, and support.

‘’A student panel anonymously went through all the nominations we received to come up with the shortlist and the winners, who we are here to celebrate today. Our working relationship with Myerscough is one of the strongest out of all of our partner institutions and we look forward to furthering this over the years ahead.

‘’Congratulations to all nominees and winners, and thanks to everyone who has supported the awards and decided the winners and the shortlists.’’

Alison Robinson, Chief Executive and Principal of Myerscough College and University Centre, said: ‘’It’s one of the highlights of the year in the HE calendar and what makes it so special is the fact that t’s our students who vote for these awards. To have more than 50 members of staff nominated is great to see.

‘’Our team are fantastic at delivering higher education (at Myerscough). Our retention rates are superb, as is our student achievement and progression, plus our TEF Gold award is down to the dedication and professionalism of the staff, who go over and above every single day.

‘’We have had a fantastic partnership with the university for more than 30 years now and were proud to part of their team as a partner college and associate school.’’

The shortlisted nominees were as follows:

Student Support Award

Claire Bloor (Veterinary Nursing)

Irene Weir (Horticulture)

Sam Parks (Animal Studies) - WINNER   

Myerscough’s Golden One

Danny Cowell (Motorsport) - WINNER

Wes Hall (Arboriculture)

Louise Bell (Animal Studies)

Su Schofield (Equine Studies)

Lecturer of the Year Award

Adam Eckersley (Agricultural Engineering)

Catherine Trickett (Veterinary Nursing)

Emma Blundell (Animal Studies)

Wes Hall (Arboriculture) – WINNER

Louise Bell (Animal Studies)

The photographs show the winners of the 2019 Myerscough Golden Roses.

Special thanks to Gemma Ghouse and Carolina de Almeida from UCLan, and Claire Obersby, Jake Jones and Nic Roberts for co-ordinating the event.

by Dave Salmon